lakers unofficial
MR-banner600
Hide Admin Message

Aug 22, 2014 2:17PM 
Let's collect trains! Disneyland fans know that Walt Disney's love for trains was one of the things that inspired him to build Disneyland. Walt built the Carolwood Pacific Railroad in the backyard of his Holmby Hills home that he purchased in 1949. Imagine what Walt must have been thinking when he watched this one-eighth scale train circle his backyard. STICKER NIGHT TUESDAY will feature pieces of  More...

I'm sure most you know this.... But that HUGE beast of a home was NOT Walt's home.  His original home was a lot more humble.  They saved only a tunnel and a couple bushes, that's it.  "We" at the Carolwood Pacific Historical SS saved the backyard Barn and with the generous help of Sharon Disney-Miller and the Broggie family (Michael and Sharon), the Barn was moved to 'Travel Town' train park at Griffith Park Los Angeles.    If you've never been there, please stop by! It's really cool.   I work with plastics myself and built the cover for Walt's workbench.. And it gave me goosebumps as I was helping protect Walt's handprints (in axel grease) and tools as he had them there.   Great project.   As things are today, I still have a pile of original train track pieces (wood and rails) in a pile in my backyard.    We tried at one time to help the Barn by selling small token pieces of the track, but that only went for a small time.   Oh, strangely enough, that "pile" of track sits in Carlsbad here, far from Anaheim or the Carolwood property.  In the end...  In my opinion... It's a shame what they did with Walt's property, house AND neighbors house just to built that insane Estate.  Then to "suggest" it even carries a resemblance to Walt's smaller home?  Hmmm..  But, that's progress for ya.    By the way, Walt's train setup was a smaller scale, but to really be blown away, look up Ward Kimball's "Grizzly Flats" backyard train.  I remember his neighbors just "loving it" when he did a steam up.  Ha!   I'd been there only once, but quite impressive having a full-scale steam engine.    May they both rest in the Depot called Heaven.   8):-)   - imtigger  18.3 #6526 10:41AM
Wow that's awesome info, thanks for sharing imtigger! - Admin  8:55PM
Love trains! How exciting! It'd be neat to have all the DL engines someday! πŸ˜πŸš‚ - Duchess_SMK  5552.7 #14 2:37PM
Just wait until you get to collect trains with your son.😍 - RadiatorSprings4Ever  705.3 #219 3:38PM
Jack wants the "HO" scale Disneyland train set for Christmas this year!  - BombFrogCM  683.7 #229 8:56PM
πŸ‘ oh I didn't even think about that RadiatorSprings4Ever ! I'mSO looking forward to that! πŸ˜πŸ’—πŸ‘ BombFrogCM your son has excellent taste! πŸ’—πŸš‚ - Duchess_SMK  5552.7 #14 7:24AM
We started collecting HO sets last Christmas with Thomas & Friends but we're really excited to get the Disneyland Monorail set which was the same scale - BombFrogCM  683.7 #229 7:54AM
- draven898  256.9 #1141 11:05PM
Those trains are awesome, and foolish me missed it! @@@@@@Admin you must do a DO OVER!πŸ˜‚ - MadameLeota  1674.4 #74 11:28PM
Do you still need any? - Winnie111286  876.2 #167 9:50AM

Thanked by:  UTDISNEYFAMILY 1164.7 #112   draven898 256.9 #1141   WishIWereThere 246.7 #1248   Duchess_SMK 5552.7 #14   BaseballMickey_CM 5907.8 #13   HandMeAChurroImmaFaint 3911.4 #23   jacdanfan 6455.0 #8   ZipadeeMickey 283.6 #888   leopardditz2000 293.0 #838   CoachSteve 65.0 #3921   DisneyGrandma 655.2 #249   FrankenweenieVelinee 1153.4 #116   Goofytom 733.7 #212   secretagentangel 1238.8 #100   DisneyPiratePrincess 65.8 #3906   BombFrogCM 683.7 #229   marisadel 6.7 #12045   stanvoodoo 0.1 #95865   adisneyfamily 680.4 #232   notw12 161.1 #2387   Winnie111286 876.2 #167   kameleongt 179.9 #2103   Zipadeedoodah 214.1 #1671   brigeet 376.1 #513   we3kingz 119.7 #3028   TheHubs 204.0 #1812   MrsPrinceCharming   Tom 6408.5 #10   ittybitsey 7.5 #0   iloveprinceEric 253.3 #1179   davycrockett1955 9.3 #9458   RatalouieNFranguini 103.9 #3304   Thumper13 352.8 #569   Disneylanddreams 0.0 #0   DisneyHeidi 3.7 #22439   KingdomKeeper1210 0.1 #0   robmurow 3018.9 #32   Yen-Sidious 37.3 #4771   susiet23 130.7 #2843   cinderella5 333.1 #631   FrozenElsa 3.4 #25731   MonorailMonster33 3.6 #23973   IFoundNemo44 3.1 #33430   tmm669 69.5 #3820   seamaiden612 0.0 #0   Tinkerbellmom4 398.5 #479   verolly 739.3 #208   PrincessTianna 217.6 #1619   DiT22 212.6 #1690   daddystud9 70.4 #3800   MinnieMyLove 132.4 #2817   chipanddalefan 723.1 #215   MiamiMickeyMom 132.0 #2825   Boundin 500.7 #362   goofycorps 19.4 #6323   ILuvSleepingBeauty 188.1 #2001   lovebelle 150.4 #2536  
 140.9 #2697 (DL Qual #672

Apr 20, 2014 8:35PM  Food Reviews Land
Monte Cristo at the Blue Bayou. It tasted amazing! I got this plus a salad and rolls. It was a lot of food.

My wife always gets this and can only eat half of it.  - Goofytom  733.7 #212 8:51PM
Pregnancy craving.... - FoolishMortal138  322.1 #685 9:13PM
Looks delicious.  - Miitiimewitemouse  1.9 #55073 6:17PM
Love the Blue Bayou. We only go there when we're really hungry. Lots of food and costly.  - Winnie111286  876.2 #167 6:28PM

 41.7 #4575 (DL Qual #952

Aug 24, 2014 9:22PM  Food Reviews Land
The goodness of corn bread from BTMRbbq. I could eat it until my stomach hurt.

Me too ! So yummy! - PrincessLeia  286.1 #875 9:36PM
"Ya'll gonna eat dat cornbread" - SnoopMousyMouse  40.9 #0 9:38PM
Any and all food stickers welcome.  - thankyouwalt  41.7 #4575 9:34PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 21, 2014 7:16PM  Food Reviews Land
Carne asada & red chile enchilada platter from Rancho del Zacalo at DL. It was really good and the carne asada is grilled to order.

Tagged in: Food  
It's my favoriteπŸ‘ - adventurerEnDisneylandia {AED}  663.0 #244 7:17PM
I also had this for dinner this evening. It was awesome.  - marshall008  21.3 #0 9:49PM
Good times - goofy06  528.7 #329 7:48AM
So delicious. - keepmovingforward  80.7 #3628 8:22AM

 155.1 #2478 (DL Qual #2155

Aug 19, 2014 3:17PM  Food Reviews Land
island tesoro chicken at blu bayou delicious

Tagged in: Food  
Looks yummy!πŸ˜‹ - debbiev  771.9 #197 5:28PM
It was delicious i recommend to try it - Disneyfever80  155.1 #2478 11:06AM
I had this Monday. One of the best meals I've ever had! We may go back before we leave.  - msdizmaui  622.0 #269 7:08PM
Best place hands down πŸ‘ - polo33  43.1 #4525 6:34PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 20, 2014 11:42PM  Food Reviews Land
Adorable and delicious.

Adicious! - Bo22  383.9 #497 12:29AM
That looks yummy! Where is it from? - Mommadisneyfan  36.1 #4836 12:37AM
Tomorrowland terraceπŸ‘ - eviljules  841.7 #175 3:18AM
🍫🍫🍫yummy🍫🍫🍫 - NewMommyToaLittleTigger  8.6 #9984 12:35PM
Mmmmmm I loooove chocolate  - FoolishMortal138  322.1 #685 12:41PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:44PM  Food Reviews Land
Pomme frittes at Cafe Orleans. Totally delicious and worth smelling like garlic for the rest of the day.

Tagged in: Food  
I have said this before but....for added flavor to the Gumbo there, take the bottom of the Pome Frites basket and dump the garlic and cheese into it and mix...its amazing..ads a whole new level of flavor - Dave  11004.5 #2 12:48PM
That sounds amazing! - TakeMeToNeverland19  8.3 #10225 1:29PM
Haha, I agree!  πŸ˜‹ - Spoonful_O_Sugar  520.3 #334 7:48PM
Yummmmmmmmm!!! - doxielover  17.1 #6743 8:26PM
Those are so yummy! - marisadel  6.7 #12045 4:07AM

unFORECAST (BETA) is here! Top MouseWaiters giving you the rundown of what's happening at the Disneyland Resort. Automated crowd prediction calendars are worthless--the UNFORECAST is where it's at!

Update for the week of Monday, August 25th:

Park hours: DL (9am-10pm weekdays, 9am-12am weekends); DCA (9am-9pm weekdays, 9am-10pm weekends). Since the parks are closing earlier during the week, Fantasmic will only be shown Friday-Sunday, World of Color will be shown at 9pm and the "Magical!" fireworks will be shown at 9:25pm daily (weather permitting).

FYI: this is a last full week to participate in "Legends of Frontierland" in Frontierland as it concludes on Monday, September 1st. Also, the Adventure Trading Company's last day in the jungle will be Monday, August 25 and will move onto a new adventure, so make sure to catch them!

unForecast Crowd Prediction: Expect it to be quiet to moderately busy this week as many schools go back this week, but there's also still quite a few people getting their end of summer vacation in at the Resort before school starts after Labor Day for them. But, reminder that this weekend is the Disneyland Half Marathon, so expect crowds to pick up Thursday and/or Friday as runners and their families come in for this weekend's events. And make sure to keep an eye out for any road closures late Saturday night to mid Sunday morning if you are coming to the Resort this coming weekend!

Have a great week! - BaseballMickey_CM Aug 25, 2014 12:00AM
July was arguably one of the slowest months of the year (some say the Sunday on Independence Day Weekend was the slowest day of the year). However, we saw crowd levels rise Sat Aug 2, and they've been steady through today (Aug 5). With the Socal passes coming good Aug 18, we should see good crowds throughout the end of the month.  - Admin Aug 5, 2014 2:23PM
New "Music of Nashville" event coming to the Big Thunder Ranch Jamboree running on weekends, starting on July 18. To read more info: click here - BaseballMickey_CM Jul 9, 2014 11:04AM
So far this summer, Saturdays have been the quietest days of the week due to the Annual Passholder block outs. Today, wait times weren't too bad in both parks, with crowd indexes hovering around 60-70 at DL and 50-60 in DCA.  - BaseballMickey_CM Jun 28, 2014 11:24PM



We have always noticed that Saturdays are better than Sundays! We always come on the weekend and say we want to leave at dinner time on Sunday, but always leave by 11-12 because there are so many people. We love Saturday!! - 1Princess3Princes  351.1 #574 5:39PM
I agree. I think it has to do with most passes being blocked - PoohSizedGuy  18.5 #6497 11:53PM
I agree with BaseballMickey_CM.  Saturdays are the lightest days when all other passes are blocked out.  The 4th may be crowded because of the holiday, but I'll take that over a crazy Sunday any day. - potatohead25  533.7 #324 2:55PM
My solo visit last Saurday was the lightest crowd I remember in a long time, especially during the Summer! - grumpypapa  1973.0 #58 4:52PM
I agree @grumpypapa, last Sat. was as uncrowded as I've seen it in a long while! Besides the AP block outs, it might also be that people were waiting to visit until they were off work/school over July 4th weekend. - debbiev  771.9 #197 10:23PM
Saturdays, mornings during mon-Fridays, peak heat are low ride times and low crowds. IMOπŸ˜‰ - Plumiegirl  7791.2 #3 10:24AM
I love these weekly updates! Keep doing it! - DsnyPrincessMommy  49.8 #4298 9:54AM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:58PM  Food Reviews Land
So many choices!

Looks good enough to eat ( it all!!!) - sewedna  315.3 #719 8:00PM
- minniemonika  72.3 #0 8:15PM
Mmm So many Choclate choices.  - DisneyGrammaX2  61.7 #3987 8:16PM

 705.3 #219 (DL Qual #138

Aug 18, 2014 12:13AM  Food Reviews Land
I had the wonderful opportunity to experience the WOC tonight and dine at the Wine Country Trattoria. The package is $41.99. This includes dinner and tickets for the WOC in the preferred seating area in front of TLM. I had the Herb-roasted Chicken Breast and my hubby had the Filet Mignon. The deserts were heavenly! They included Trattoria Tiramisu, European Macaroons, Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta with  More...

Tagged in: Food  
This is great information! Thank you for sharing! Maybe it will be something the hubby and I can do in the future for a special occasion :) - BrerPam  102.6 #3327 8:47AM
I would agree for a special occasion. - RadiatorSprings4Ever  705.3 #219 12:58PM
What a great review! Also loved your tips about the gift cards! I always forget about that! We've done this package before but they must change the menu often because we ate something else. Love the pics! πŸ‘πŸ˜Š - Duchess_SMK  5552.7 #14 8:57AM
I have learned from the best. Thank you😊 - RadiatorSprings4Ever  705.3 #219 12:58PM
Delish! Food and a show  - princessb5  164.2 #2345 12:22PM
πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‹πŸ˜ - RadiatorSprings4Ever  705.3 #219 1:37PM
Thanks so much for the review!! Never been there but this looks really good.  πŸ˜Š - MinnieMousewife  732.1 #209 12:27PM
Thank you! Cute profile pic! - RadiatorSprings4Ever  705.3 #219 1:37PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:40PM  Food Reviews Land
Matterhorn macaroon from Jolly Holiday. Best I've ever had and only $1.99 before AP discount.

Those are so rich and delicious!! Nom nom nom - Firefighter_Donald  28.2 #5321 7:41PM
- zbgirl00  51.0 #4267 8:36PM
To do list … added - pamntink  22.9 #5864 9:59PM
Still haven't tried one. Hope I remember to in October. - MonLuvsDisney  182.0 #2079 10:25PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 6:16PM  Food Reviews Land
Breakfast at Carnation Cafe. Delicious!

Nom nom nom!! Yummy - jamieasada  16.3 #6887 6:47PM
Yes please!! - disneyland4me  239.9 #1338 7:03PM
Havent done that yet, thinking about it next trip. - keepmovingforward  80.7 #3628 9:37PM
I'm still in search of a waffle maker that's Mickey shaped - TakeMeToNeverland19  8.3 #10225 10:24PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:45PM  Food Reviews Land
Malificent apple! Caramel, dark chocolate and rice crispy horns. My new favorite apple.

Oh cool, was thinking they were marshmallow - Bunnie  438.9 #421 8:13PM
Thanks for posting. We had been wondering that. Rice Krispies were our guess! - redrockmickey  95.3 #3432 8:27PM
That's my favorite and I try to buy one to take home everytime I'm there.  - WhatTiggersDoBest  263.0 #1082 8:33PM
Me too!  - pamntink  22.9 #5864 10:03PM
Two treats in one, score. - MonLuvsDisney  182.0 #2079 10:22PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:53PM  Food Reviews Land
Mint Julep & Pomegranate lemonade from Cafe Orleans. I highly recommend a break for these on a hot day. Both were refreshing and delicious!

- Goofytom  733.7 #212 7:55PM
I think I would like the pomegranate lemonade ... Mint julep wasn't my fav 😊 - eviljules  841.7 #175 8:07PM
I still need to try a Mint Julep, I love the pomegranate lemonade though! So tasty and refreshing :) - MyPunzel711  19.3 #0 8:12PM
They'll give you a sample. Especially since you've never tried it. The CM mentioned a lot get tossed out or exchanged. - 559MickeyLover  303.5 #774 9:55PM
Agree - pamntink  22.9 #5864 9:59PM

Read Episode One of Deadliest Cast Member FREE on Amazon and iTunes!

I downloaded this before a very long road trip, and it kept me entertained the whole time (well, except when I was taking my turn at the wheel, safety first!).  - Geekery  401.5 #473 10:21PM
Thanks! I'm glad you liked it! - Admin  10:46AM
Where can I find the book please?  - sarahsanch  6.8 #11822 1:03PM
Just got it! Can't stop reading it. I am already starting chaper 16. Love how all the details of DL are woven into the story. - Tiggerific  330.2 #645 4:20PM
Just bought the complete Season 1 series on my Kindle.  A bargain for $5.99 (and I love that they're individual short stories...perfect airplane and pool reading!). - msdizmaui  622.0 #269 5:21PM
just finished now i can't wait for season two ! - draven898  256.9 #1141 3:13PM

Thanked by:  AZDisney 598.0 #283   dumbbunny 625.3 #266   secretagentangel 1238.8 #100   BombFrog 683.7 #229   erinten 448.0 #415   UTDISNEYFAMILY 1164.7 #112   adventuremickey 225.1 #1517   HandMeAChurroImmaFaint 3911.4 #23   goofydad909 1777.9 #67   mlatour 328.5 #654   MrsSchnooks 2674.5 #36   TinkerSchelle 1162.5 #113   PrincessDaisy 302.4 #778   TheHubs 204.0 #1812   caramiapoohAKAface 2825.6 #33   TiggerGal 17.3 #6720   dizneegrl 111.8 #3177   hotrodrachel 68.5 #3845   MrsPrinceCharming   MeridaFan 3248.6 #27   619HeatherMouse 246.6 #1251   grumpypapa 1973.0 #58   islandgirlrocksjjj 38.9 #4682   gonzofam 226.3 #1502   babebahn 207.3 #1762   Duchess_SMK 5552.7 #14   apesandmonkeys 7551.0 #4   Song 1547.2 #80   junjunm3 1286.4 #98   jmramos 160.6 #2397   MadameLeota 1674.4 #74   JediKitty 660.2 #245   Tom 6408.5 #10   abskid495 21.9 #5991   HappyPrincess 25.0 #5618   disney mama 67.9 #3858   johnaleigh33 12.9 #7821   HauntedMansionDiva 227.4 #1494   bruinbelle4 8.1 #10364   bonedaddy909 1089.1 #132   janetdisney24 41.7 #4573   GrumpyPirateDad 1766.6 #69   WICKEDQUEEN99 18.9 #6405   DisneyHeidi 3.7 #22439   melissa_ficent 318.5 #704   Boundin 500.7 #362   Papawrinkles 33.9 #4960   thankyouwalt 41.7 #4575   eviljules 841.7 #175   waltfan 241.8 #1318   DisneyDarling122 3.8 #21971   WhatTiggersDoBest 263.0 #1082   Yen-Sidious 37.3 #4771   marisadel 6.7 #12045   draven898 256.9 #1141   karnatjen12 58.9 #4056   Miitiimewitemouse 1.9 #55073  
 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 8:08PM  Food Reviews Land
Mickey cookie as big as her head! From the Jolly Holiday.

- minniemonika  72.3 #0 8:11PM
Hey, you said pierce my ear, not take a bite out of it. - Yen-Sidious  37.3 #4771 8:11PM
 A cookie as big as your head=perfection - DarthTinkerbell  95.5 #3429 9:47PM
That's a Jolly Holiday! - pamntink  22.9 #5864 9:59PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:34PM  Food Reviews Land
Matterhorn macaroon from Jolly Holiday?

😱😱😱😍😍 - HandMeAChurroImmaFaint  3911.4 #23 7:41PM
Add me please! - 1HitchhikingGhost  206.6 #1771 7:47PM
I love those. They are so good. - keepmovingforward  80.7 #3628 9:31PM
- DarthTinkerbell  95.5 #3429 9:43PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:55PM  Food Reviews Land
Cinnamon roll as big as your head! It's a wonderful way to start your day at the park.

Yum - minniemonika  72.3 #0 8:16PM
I seriously love those warmed up!  - eviljules  841.7 #175 8:17PM
mmm! So tasty - HandMeAChurroImmaFaint  3911.4 #23 8:20PM
Sharesies! Slides over and gives you a fork πŸ‘πŸ˜Š - eviljules  841.7 #175 8:22PM
All this and you are a doll, too? 😘 - HandMeAChurroImmaFaint  3911.4 #23 8:57PM

 29.8 #5211 (DL Qual #1257

Aug 17, 2014 7:42PM  Food Reviews Land
Monte Cristo sandwich at Cafe Orleans. Amazing! Plenty to share, don't order this alone.

One of my favorite foods to eat in the park! - Bassplayerswife  140.9 #2697 7:49PM

 285.6 #879 (DL Qual #911

Aug 8, 2014 8:00PM  Food Reviews Land
Hey guys! I went to Minnie's breakfast in the park for the first time this morning. It was awesome! A while back I wrote a review about Goofy's Kitchen and how disappointing it was. This experience could not have been more different. The food quality was much better, although the selection was smaller. The characters spend more time with you. It was so much fun! I left with a happy bulging belly f  More...

I agree. Goofy' s kitchen has strange food. At $30 a person, I would rather eat real food. I went there for lunch and only ate one slice of pizza and a strawberry for that price. Glad you liked the restaurant. - minniemonika  72.3 #0 8:03PM
glad you had such a great time.We have done Minnie's, Goofy's and Surf's up. Even though we have like them all I think Minnie's is the best. - keepmovingforward  80.7 #3628 8:10PM
ooooohhh! How is Surf's up? - AWholeNewWorld  285.6 #879 11:03PM
ooooohhh! How is Surf's up? - AWholeNewWorld  285.6 #879 11:05PM
Surf's up is pretty good. It wasnt as crowdedand felt more layed back. Also the food was good. You see Surfing Mickey, Minnie,Daisy, and Pluto. Then its the only breakfast that has Stitch. I think Minnie's and Goofy's has more characters. - keepmovingforward  80.7 #3628 9:17AM
I think Minnie's and Storytellers are the best. - Chumash28  950.9 #153 5:51AM
I like Minnie's but love Goofy's because my son loves eating the pizza and strange food like hot dogs. The food is good at both. Characters do interact more with you at Minnie's  - MarshaMouse  3760.4 #24 10:03AM

 3018.9 #32 (DL Qual #22

Aug 6, 2014 8:48PM  Food Reviews Land
Dinner at Flos V8 Cafe pork loin $11.99 with side of beans So Good!!!

Oh yum!! We love Flo's!!! - adisneyfamily  680.4 #232 10:20PM
I like this one too. My favorite is the turkey dinner. Flo's is a great place to sit, relax, and enjoy the scenery on a warm summer night.  - grumpypapa  1973.0 #58 5:15AM

Your Donations Help Us Make MouseWait Better!

TOP MWs of the WEEK

1.verolly 91 #208  
2.Goofytom 89 #213  
3.jacdanfan 81 #8  
4.MarshaMouse 69 #24  
5.goofygal 65 #11  

MW Quality Top 100    Monthly Leaders   Top 100 MouseRank Leaders  Top 50 News  Monthly Wait Time Leaders


Use this link to do your shopping on Amazon.com and MouseWait benefits from your purchases!








Get Disneyland and MouseWait News before anyone else! Join our Priority Text List today.


By UsernameBy Keyword